The Harold A. Iddles Lecture Series


photo of Erin Carlson for aesthetic purposesErin E. Carlson

Associate Professor, Chemistry Department, University of Minnesota

B.A., St. Olaf College
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Nature as a Source of New Drugs

April 26, 2017, 4pm Horton 210

Activity-Based Probes for Selective Imaging of the Penicillin-Binding Proteins in Streptococcus pneumonia

April 27, 2017, 11am Parsons Hall Room N104 


To meet the challenges of antibiotic resistance and specter of a post-antibiotic era, the research group of Erin E. Carlson is pursuing the discovery of the master regulators of bacterial growth and communication and ultimately, the identification of new antibiotics through the application of diverse tools at the interface of chemistry and biology. They are currently pursuing three intersecting objectives: 1) Development and application of powerful strategies to explore and interpret the molecular language used by bacteria to respond to environmental cues using a combination of mass spectrometry, informatics and novel separation reagents, 2) Pursuit of the generation of chemical probes and inhibitors for the global profiling and inhibition of histidine kinases, a ubiquitous class of proteins essential for signal transduction in bacteria, and 3) To deepen our understanding of the multi-protein systems that dictate bacterial growth and division, Carlson is designing selective probes for imaging and proteomics with specific focus on the penicillin-binding proteins. Each of her research objectives is independently important for potential therapeutic development. However, it is her focus on the synergy between multiple areas that is the foundation for her group’s unique ability to detectinterrupt and exploit the master regulators of bacterial behavior.


Erin E. Carlson is an Associate Professor in the Chemistry Department at the University of Minnesota and is appointed as a Graduate Faculty member of the Department of Medicinal Chemistry, the Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics and the graduate program in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology. She received her B.A. at St. Olaf College and went on to graduate studies at the University of Wisconsin - Madison and earned a Ph.D. in organic chemistry under the direction of Professor Laura L. Kiessling. Subsequently, Dr. Carlson performed postdoctoral studies at The Scripps Research Institute with Professor Benjamin F. Cravatt. In 2008, Dr. Carlson started her independent career at Indiana University and moved to the University of Minnesota in the summer of 2014. Since the start of her independent career, she has won numerous awards including being named a Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) recipient, a Pew Biomedical Scholar, the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award, the Indiana University Outstanding Junior Faculty Award, the NSF CAREER Award, the Cottrell Scholar Award and was named a Sloan Research Fellow, an ACS WCC Rising Star and an Indiana University Dean's Fellow.

The Harold A. Iddles Lecture Series was established as an annual event of the Chemistry Department upon Professor Iddles' retirement in 1961. Chemistry alumni and friends established this fund to support a lecture series which includes one technical presentation and a second presentation of broader interest for the general public. This alumni gesture has served as a continuing recognition of Professor Iddles' service to the department as its head from 1929 to 1961, and of the educational and research programs he fostered.  Dr. Iddles, educated at Michigan State College (B.S., 1918) and State University of Iowa (M.S., 1922), received the Ph.D. in Chemistry from Columbia University in 1925 and then studied in Austria, Germany and England. During his long tenure at New Hampshire, he was widely recognized as an outstanding teacher and tireless advisor to students. For over thirty years some of the most distinguished chemists in the world have visited the University of New Hampshire as Iddles Lecturers. 

Past Iddles Lecturers

Arthur C. Cope Dietmar Seyferth Jacqueline V. Barton
Louis F. Feiser Clayton H. Heathcock David Parker
Frederick E. Brinckman Paul C. Lauterbur F. Sherwood Rowland
James P. Collman Allen J. Bard Peter Wipf
William N. Lipscomb, Jr. Mark S. Wrighton R. Mark Wightman
Kenneth B. Wiberg Anders Kjaer Thomas V. O'Halloran
George C. Pimentel Rudolph A. Marcus John LaMattina
Kurt Mislow Vincent du Vigneaud Pamela Bjorkman
R. Bruce Merrifield Roand C.D. Breslow Mary J. Wirth 
Sidney H. Fox Daryle J. Busch Barbara J. Finlayson-Pitts
Francis O. Schmitt Manfred Eigen Fred Wudl
Philip Aisen John D. Roberts Raoul Kopelman
Jerrold Meinwald Gabor A. Somorjai Kim D. Janda 
George S. Hammond Ira W. Levin Marsha I. Lester
Garry A. Rechnitz F. Albert Cotton William B. Tolman
Walter M. Stockmayer John T. Yates, Jr. Weihong Tan
R.M. Acheson John E. McMurry Timothy M. Swager
Louis P. Hammett Paul S. Anderson Mark Ratner
Paul G. Gassman Richard P. Wayne Peter Mahaffy
Orville L. Chapman Chris Enke Cynthia Friend
Royce W. Murray Andrew D. Hamilton Isiah M. Warner
Michael J. Welch Debbie C. Crans George M. Whitesides


Lectures are open to the public.  For more information, contact the Department of Chemistry at 603-862-1550.