Overview

UNH Observatory

Viewing Opportunities at the UNH Observatory

Free Public Sessions are running again!

No appointements are required to attend! All ages and levels of astronomy knowledge are welcome. Our public observing sessions take place every first and third Saturdays of every month. Before every public observing session, we post an update to our Facebook Page in the late afternoon. If the weather is cloudy, rainy, or the roads covered in snow, we are likely to cancel the session.  We are continuiing to keep in touch with our guests and supporters on our UNH Observatory Facebook Page. An Observatory mailing list is also available, where an Observatory Newsletter is sent out every other month or so with Observatory news and updates, astonomy factoids, community photographs and events, and more! To sign up, fill out the short Google form

For Summer and Fall 2022, our Public Observing Sessions are scheduled for:

Saturday, July 2 - 9-11 PM Saturday, July 16 - 9-11 PM
Saturday, August 6 - 9-11 PM Saturday August 20 - 8-10 PM
Saturday September 3 - 9-11 PM Saturday September 17 - 9-11 PM
NEFAF September 30 Opens 7 PM  
NEFAF October 1 Opens 10:30 AM Saturday October 15 - 8-10 PM
Saturday November 5 - 8-10 PM Saturday November 19 - 8-10 PM
Saturday December 3 - 8-10 PM Saturday December 17 - 8-10 PM

Viewing Opportunities at the UNH Observatory

Free Public Sessions

  • The first and third Saturday of every month: 8-10 pm from late September through March and 9-11 pm from April through August
  • Makes a great family outing!
  • Friday and Satuday, September 30 & October 1 NEFAF ! Keynote Kick-off 9/30 at 7:00 pm - Laser Pointer shows, Talks, Observing
  • Festival gates open at 10 AM on Saturday, October 30 There is NO admission fee!

Free Private Sessions

  • For groups of 8 or more
  • If you are a part of a home school group and want your students to explore the fascinating science of astronomy, contact us.  We are happy to work with you on a custom program that covers essential elements of modern astronomy.
  • Sessions can be set up weeknights or weekends (based on availability)
  • A great idea for birthday parties, school trips, Boy/Cub/Girl Scouts, couples night, and so much more!!
  • For more information, email us at unh.observer@unh.edu

Observatory events

No upcoming events